AAIQ   The Association of Allergists and Immunologists of Québec

Peanut Allergy

The peanut is one of the most common food allergens. About 1% of the population has a peanut allergy.

Is the peanut a nut?

The peanut is part of the legume family and not part of the nut family. Although many people allergic to peanuts are not allergic to nuts, a certain number of people are allergic to both. Even though the peanut is part of the legume family, the majority of people with a peanut allergy tolerate other legumes (lentils, peas, beans, etc.).

How does one avoid peanuts?

As for most other food allergies, treatment always begins with avoidance. In addition to informing those around you and taking precautions to avoid contamination, you must attentively read all food labels, since the peanut protein can be found in many different foods. Other names may be used to designate peanut: arachides, cacahuètes, Goober nuts, mani, mandelona, valencia, etc. (see the site of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency for a more exhaustive list). At all times, in Canada, a law mandates that companies must clearly indicate the word "peanut" in the list of ingredients, and must not use other terms.

What is the evolution of a peanut allergy?

In the majority of cases, allergy to peanuts is persistent and lifelong. Typically studies have shown that about 20% of children may lose their allergy to peanuts over time.

Prevention of peanut allergy

New guidelines released by the US National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (January 2017) now recommend that to reduce the risk of peanut allergy, infants should eat foods containing peanuts by the time they are six months old.

Studies have shown that instead of delaying introduction of peanuts as had previously been recommended, active early introduction of foods may reduce allergy and improve tolerance.

The guidelines suggest that infants at high risk for peanut allergy (those who have severe eczema, egg allergy, or both) be exposed to peanuts in their diet between 4-6 months of age, after discussions with their health care provider. Occasionally, allergy testing may be performed to guide this approach. For infants with mild to moderate eczema, it is recommended that peanuts be introduced into their diet around 6 months of age. For infants without eczema or other food allergies, it is recommended that peanuts be freely introduced into their diets.

Infants should start other solid foods before eating peanut containing foods, and peanuts should never be given in nut form, or as spoonful’s of peanut butter to reduce the risk of choking. Once peanuts are tolerated, infants should continue to eat foods containing peanuts several times a week to promote tolerance.

The addendum guidelines have been published in the Canadian journal Allergy, Asthma and Clinical Immunology. It is important to discuss these recommendations as they concern your child with your doctor, in order to come up with the most appropriate strategy.

__________________________

Nha Uyen Nguyen-Luu, MD FRCPC
Andrew Moore, MD FRCPC

AAIQ   L'Association des Allergologues et Immunologues du Québec

Allergie aux arachides

L'arachide est un des allergènes alimentaires les plus courants. L'allergie aux arachides affecte environ 1% de la population.

Est-ce que l'arachide est une noix?

L'arachide fait partie de la famille des légumineuses et non pas de la famille des noix. Bien que plusieurs personnes allergiques aux arachides ne le soient pas aux noix, un certain nombre de personnes sont allergiques aux deux. Même si l'arachide est une forme de légumineuse, la majorité des gens allergiques aux arachides tolèrent bien les autres légumineuses (lentilles, poix, fèves, etc.).

Comment peut-on éviter les arachides?

Comme pour la plupart des allergies alimentaires, le traitement repose avant tout sur l'évitement. En plus d'informer notre entourage et de prendre des précautions pour éviter la contamination, il faut lire attentivement les étiquettes car les protéines d'arachide peuvent se retrouver dans plusieurs aliments. D'autres noms peuvent être utilisés pour désigner l'arachide : cacahuètes, cerneaux, mani, mandelona, valencia, etc. (voir le site Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments pour une liste plus exhaustive). Toutefois, au Canada, un règlement demande aux compagnies d’afficher clairement le mot « arachide » dans les ingrédients et de ne pas utiliser d’autres termes.

Comment évolue une allergie aux arachides?

Dans la majorité des cas, l'allergie aux arachides est persistante. Toutefois, des études ont montré qu'environ 20% des enfants peuvent perdre leur allergie aux arachides.

Prévention de l’allergie à l’arachide

De nouvelles lignes directrices publiées aux ÉU par le National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (Addendum, publié janvier 2017) recommandent maintenant une introduction précoce (vers l'âge de 6 mois) des arachides afin de réduire le risque de développement d’allergie à l’arachide.

Des études ont montré que, plutôt que de retarder l’introduction d’arachides selon les recommandations précédentes, l’introduction précoce d’aliments allergènes peut réduire les allergies et améliorer la tolérance.

Les lignes directrices suggèrent que les nourrissons à haut risque d’allergie à l’arachide (ceux qui ont de l’eczéma sévère, allergie aux œufs ou les deux) soient exposés aux arachides dans leur diète entre l’âge de 4 à 6 mois, après des discussions avec leurs médecins. Parfois, les tests d’allergie peuvent être réalisés pour guider cette approche. Pour les nourrissons atteints d’eczéma modéré ou léger, il est recommandé que les arachides soient introduites dans leur régime alimentaire vers 6 mois. Pour les nourrissons sans eczéma ou autre allergie alimentaire, il est recommandé que les arachides soient introduites librement dans leur alimentation.

Les nourrissons devraient commencer d’autres aliments solides avant de manger des aliments contenant les arachides. Les arachides ne devraient jamais être données en écaille, ou sous forme de cuillerée de beurre d’arachide pour réduire les risques d’étouffement. Une fois les arachides sont tolérées, les nourrissons doivent continuer à manger des aliments contenant des arachides plusieurs fois par semaine pour promouvoir la tolérance.

Les directives de l’Addendum ont été publiées dans la revue canadienne d’allergie, l’asthme et immunologie clinique. Il est recommandé de discuter de ces directives et de leur application dans le cas de votre enfant avec votre médecin afin de bien cerner la stratégie qui est la plus appropriée.

__________________________

Nha Uyen Nguyen-Luu, MD FRCPC
Andrew Moore, MD, FRCPC