AAIQ   The Association of Allergists and Immunologists of Québec

Contact dermatitis

What is contact dermatitis?

Contact dermatitis is an affliction of the skin caused by contact with a foreign substance. There are two types of contact dermatitis: an irritative dermatitis and an allergic contact dermatitis. An irritative contact dermatitis, the most common, is caused by diverse substances which irritate the skin and provoke inflammation. In allergic contact dermatitis specific immune cells are involves and become sensitized to a particular substance. In this way, the same cells will become active each time the skin comes into contact with the substance causing the initial reaction.

What are the symptoms of a contact dermatitis?

A skin eruption in the region of the skin exposed to the responsible agent will occur from hours to days after the exposure. The skin lesions are generally red and accompanied by itching.

Contact dermatitis

In irritative contact dermatitis the skin can appear dry with fissuring, whereas in an allergic contact dermatitis, small vesicles (blisters) can appear. In either case, contact dermatitis can be confused with several other skin diseases, such as atopic dermatitis (often simply called "eczema").

What are the causes of a contact dermatitis?

A tremendous variety of chemical products (often encountered in the workplace, for example) such as detergents, solvents and creams are responsible for irritative dermatitis. In babies, the common diaper rash is a form of irritative contact dermatitis. Allergic contact dermatitis is often caused by: nickel, present in numerous forms of jewelry; fragrances and perfumes found in many cosmetics, shampoos, soaps and creams; certain plants such as poison ivy; many medications.

How does one diagnose a contact dermatitis?

Means of prevention

The history and examination of the skin will often suggest the diagnosis. When the history is unable to identify the cause of the reaction, one can proceed with patch testing. These are not conventional allergy tests, and are only performed by certain allergists and dermatologists. These tests may involve 3 closely spaced visits to the physician. On the first visit, adhesive tape containing "patches" of particular substances are applied to the back (or the arms) and the reaction is noted over successive visits.

How is a contact dermatitis treated?

The key to treatment is the identification and avoidance of the substance causing the skin reaction. Cold compresses can help to reduce itching. The eruption can often be treated locally with cortisone-based creams. But when the reaction is important or severe, the physician may recommend a short treatment of oral cortisone.

__________________________

Nha Uyen Nguyen-Luu, MD FRCPC
(translation: Andrew Moore, MD FRCPC)

Liens d'intérêt

Dermite (ou dermatite) de contact

Qu'est ce qu'une dermite de contact?

La dermite de contact est une atteinte de la peau causée par le contact de celle-ci avec une substance étrangère. Il existe deux types de dermite de contact : la dermite de contact irritative et la dermite de contact allergique. La dermite de contact irritative, plus fréquente, est causée par diverses substances qui irritent la peau et provoque une inflammation. Dans la dermite de contact allergique, des cellules immunitaires spécifiques sont impliquées et sont sensibilisées à une substance. Ainsi, ces cellules vont s'activer à chaque fois que la peau entre en contact avec cette substance et causer une réaction cutanée.

Quels sont les symptômes d'une dermite de contact?

Une éruption cutanée à l'endroit de la peau qui a été en contact avec la substance responsable se produit dans les heures ou jours qui suivent l'exposition. L'éruption cutanée est généralement rouge et est accompagnée de démangeaison.

Dermatite de contact

Dans les dermites de contact irritatives, la peau peut sembler plus sèche et fissurée, alors que dans les dermites de contact allergiques, on peut voir des vésicules. Toutefois, la dermite de contact peut être confondue avec plusieurs autres types d'atteinte de la peau, dont la dermite atopique (souvent juste appelée « eczéma »).

Quelles sont les causes d'une dermite de contact?

Une grande variété de produits chimiques (rencontrés en milieu de travail par exemple), détergents, solvants, crèmes sont responsables des dermites irritatives. Chez les bébés, la dermite de couche commune est une forme de dermite irritative. Les dermites de contact allergiques sont souvent causées par : le nickel présent dans de nombreux bijoux; les parfums qu'on retrouve dans les cosmétiques, les shampoings, les savons et les crèmes; certaines plantes comme l'herbe à puce; plusieurs médicaments.

Comment fait-on un diagnostic une dermite de contact?

Mesure de prévention

L'histoire et l'examen de la peau permettent souvent d'orienter le diagnostic. Lorsque l'histoire ne permet pas d'identifier la cause de la réaction, on peut procéder à des patch tests. Ceux-ci ne sont pas des tests d'allergie conventionnels et ne sont faits que par certains allergologues et dermatologues. Ils peuvent nécessiter jusqu'à 3 visites rapprochées. Lors de la première visite, on applique des bandes adhésives contenant des substances choisies sur le dos (ou les bras). Par la suite, on note les réactions qui se produisent.

Quels sont les traitements d'une dermite de contact?

La clé du traitement est l'identification et l'évitement de la substance causant l'éruption cutanée. Des compresses froides peuvent aider à réduire la démangeaison. L'éruption est souvent traitée localement avec des crèmes à base de cortisone. Lorsque l'atteinte est importante ou sévère, le médecin peut recommander un traitement de courte durée avec la cortisone par la bouche.

__________________________

Nha Uyen Nguyen-Luu, MD FRCPC