AAIQ   The Association of Allergists and Immunologists of Québec

Medication allergy

Medications are means of treatment or indispensable investigation in contemporary medicine. However, despite their incontestable benefits, they are still responsible for a number of adverse reactions.

Classification of adverse reactions

These can be classified in the following manner:

  • Predictable reactions
    • Overdose
    • Side effects
    • Indirect effects, related to the medication or to the disease
    • Medication interactions
  • Unpredictable reactions:
    • Intolerance
    • Idiosyncratic
    • Allergic hypersensitivity
    • Non-allergic hypersensitivity (pseudoallergy)

Allergic hypersensitivity

These reactions can be classified according to their incidence:

  • An itchy, maculopapular rash, responsible for about 70% of medication allergies
  • Urticaria and angioedema, responsible for about 25%, which can lead to anaphylaxis, representing less than 5%
  • Other kinds of reactions, representing about 5%. Some examples include:
    • Very severe reactions:
      • SCAR: severe cutaneous adverse reaction
    • Moderately severe reactions:
      • Vasculitis
      • Immune cytopenias
    • Less severe reactions:
      • Fixed drug eruption
      • Baboon syndrome or symmetrical drug-related intertriginous and flexural exanthema (SDRIFE)

Non-allergic hypersensitivity (pseudoallergy)

Certain medications can cause a reaction similar to an IgE-mediated reaction, without actually implicating an IgE-mediated mechanism. These are called "pseudo-allergic". This kind of reaction is seen frequently in the clinic, and can exist as 3 principal groups:

  • Reactions mediated by histamine (urticaria and angioedema, possibly leading to anaphylaxis), such as reactions to narcotics, to certain antibiotics (vancomycin), and several reactions to radiological contrast agents.
  • Reactions to anti-inflammatories and to aspirin can cause respiratory symptoms, worsening asthma or rhinitis, or skin reactions such as urticaria or angioedema.
  • Reactions mediated by kinin, such as a disabling cough, or angioedema of the face, tongue or throat; these reactions principally occur with medications inhibiting metabolic pathways of kinin, such as ACE inhibitors (inhibiting the angiotensin converting enzyme), leading to a cough or angioedema, or ARB medications (angiotensin receptor blockers) that can cause angioedema.

Investigation of medication allergy

  • The first step is to obtain as much information regarding the reaction as possible; clinical and laboratory manifestations, timing, if any other medications were taken during the reaction, its evolution and treatment. Sometimes the clinical history is sufficient, especially if the reaction occurred more than once with the same medication.
  • From there, allergy tests may be useful according to the kind of reaction, its cause, and the suspected medication:
    • In the case of an immediate reaction thought to be IgE-mediated, a skin test, followed by intradermal testing, might be undertaken. The sensitivity of this test varies from one medication to another, and a negative test doesn't always signify the absence of allergy.
    • In the case of a delayed reaction, such as a maculopapular drug eruption up to SCAR, skin application tests (patch tests) and intradermal testing with delayed reading of 24 hrs or more can be considered. Here, a negative test does not exclude an allergy, but a positive test can be very significant.
  • Finally a challenge test may be considered, if not thought to be too dangerous: this consists of exposing the patient to the medication in question. Different protocols exist according to whether the reaction was immediate (urticaria or anaphylaxis), or a delayed reaction such a maculopapular rash, or other.

It is important to properly identify a medication to which one has had an allergic reaction, in order to avoid it in the future. In many cases, an allergist can help to make the diagnosis of a medication allergy, and can also give important information in the case where treatment might be necessary with a medication that may have caused a prior allergic reaction.


André Caron, MD FRCPC
(translation: Andrew Moore, MD FRCPC)

revised 10/27/2017

AAIQ   L'Association des Allergologues et Immunologues du Québec

Allergie médicamenteuse

Les médicaments sont des moyens thérapeutiques ou d’investigation indispensables pour la médecine contemporaine. Cependant, malgré leurs effets bénéfiques incontestables, ils sont quand même responsables de nombreuses réactions adverses.

Classification des réactions adverses

Elles peuvent être classifiées de la façon suivante :

  • Réactions prévisibles :
    • Surdosage
    • Effet secondaire
    • Effect indirect, en relation avec le médicament ou la maladie
    • Interaction médicamenteuse
  • Réactions non prévisibles :
    • Intolérance
    • Idiosyncrasie
    • Hypersensibilité allergique
    • Hypersensibilité non-allergique (pseudoallergie)

Hypersensibilité allergique

Ces réactions peuvent être classifiées par leur incidence :

  • Rash maculopapuleux prurigineux, responsable d’environ 70% des allergies médicamenteuses
  • Urticaire et angioedème, responsable d’environ 25%, pouvant aller jusqu’à l’anaphylaxie, représentant moins de 5%
  • Les autres types de réactions, représentant environ 5% : en voici des exemples :
    • Certaines pouvant être très sévères :
      • SCAR : severe cutaneous adverse reaction
    • Certaines modérément sévères :
      • Vasculite
      • Cytopénies immunes
    • D’autres moins sévères:
      • Éruption médicamenteuse fixe
      • Syndrome du babouin

Hypersensibilité non allergique (pseudoallergie)

Certains médicaments peuvent engendrer une réaction similaire à la réaction IgE-médiée, sans toutefois impliquer un mécanisme IgE-médié. C'est pourquoi on appelle cette réaction "pseudo-allergique". Ce type de réaction est aussi très fréquent en clinique, et il en existe 3 principaux groupes :

  • Les réactions médiées par l’histamine (urticaire et angioedème, pouvant aller jusqu’à l’anaphylaxie), telles les réactions aux narcotiques, à certains antibiotiques (vancomycine), plusieurs réactions aux produits de contraste radiologiques.
  • Les réactions aux antiinflammatoires et à l’aspirine pouvant donner des réactions respiratoires de type asthme et rhinite, ou des réactions cutanées de type urticaire ou angioedème.
  • Les réactions médiées par la kinine, telle une toux rebelle, ou un angioedème de la face, langue ou gorge ; ces réactions surviennent principalement avec des médicaments inhibant les voies métaboliques de la kinine, tels les IECA (inhibiteurs de l’enzyme de conversion) qui peuvent induire de la toux ou unt angioedème, et les BRA (bloqueurs des récepteurs de l’angiotensine) qui peuvent induire un angioedème.

Investigation de l'allergie médicamenteuse

  • La première étape est d’obtenir le plus de renseignements sur la réaction, ses manifestations cliniques et en laboratoire, sa chronologie, la chronologie de la prise des médicaments en cours lors de la réaction, son évolution, du traitement reçu. Parfois l’histoire seule peut être suffisante, surtout si la réaction est survenue plus d’une fois avec le même médicament.
  • À partir de là, des tests d’allergie peuvent être envisagés selon le type de réaction en cause et les médicaments suspectés :
    • Dans le cas d’une réaction immédiate suspectée d’être IgE-médiée, un test par scarification, suivi d’une intradermoréaction peut être effectuée. La sensibilité de ce test est variable d’un médicament à l’autre, et un test négatif ne signifie pas toujours une absence d’allergie.
    • Dans le cas d’une réaction retardée de type rash maculopapuleux allant jusqu’au SCAR, des tests par application cutanée (patch tests) et des intradermoréaction avec lecture tardive à 24 heures et plus peuvent être envisagés. Ici un test négatif n’exclut pas une allergie, mais un test positif est souvent très significatif.
  • Enfin un test de provocation peut être envisagé, si non jugé trop dangereux : il s’agit d’exposer le patient au médicament en question. Différents protocoles existent selon qu’il s’agisse d’une réaction immédiate de type urticaire/anaphylaxie, ou d’une réaction retardée de type rash maculopapuleux ou autre.

Il est important de bien identifier un médicament auquel on a eu une réaction allergique, car ainsi il est facile de l'éviter par la suite. Dans bien des cas, un allergologue peut aider à faire le diagnostic d'une allergie médicamenteuse, et peut aussi donner de précieux conseils dans le cas de traitement nécessaire avec un médicament auquel on a déjà présenté une allergie antérieurement.

__________________________

André Caron, MD FRCPC

révisé 10/27/2017