AAIQ   The Association of Allergists and Immunologists of Québec

Allergy tests

Allergy skin tests are currently performed percutaneously using a variety of skin-prick tools, in order to detect allergies responsible for "atopy", including seasonal allergic rhinitis or rhino-conjunctivitis (also known as hay-fever or pollenosis) or perennial rhinitis (occurring year-round), recurrent sinusitis, chronic sinusitis, recurrent upper respiratory tract infections (especially in children), allergic asthma, certain forms of urticaria (hives), and sometimes to investigate a skin reaction called dermatitis, including atopic dermatitis or eczema.

Cabarets d'extraits
Allergy extract trays
Scarificateurs disponibles
Available skin-prick tools

The tests are performed to detect several environmental allergens, including dust mites, feathers, moulds, pollens, animal allergens, in addition to related food allergies. The tests can also be performed to detect the venom of certain insects (bees, wasp, hornets, etc), local anaesthetics, and latex.

Une goutte de l'extrait est déposé
Placement of extracts
La scarification à travers chaque goutte
Skin-prick testing through the extracts

The only medication that can be tested by routine skin testing is penicillin. The tests are performed by pricking the skin, using a variety of tools, needles or lancets. Intradermal testing (by small injection) can be performed if skin-prick testing is negative. The results are read in 15-20 minutes, and are described in terms of mild, moderate, or marked, as a series of 'pluses' (such as +, ++, +++, or ++++) or by measuring the induration, and the erythema in mm.


Test fait par injection intradermique
A test by intradermal injection
Cas exemple: lecture après 15 min
A case example: reading after 15 minutes
Test par application de glace
A test after applying ice

 

Allergists can also evaluate allergies by ordering certain blood tests (formerly called RAST, or radioallergosorbent tests) which give a quantitative level of IgE antibodies responsible for allergic manifestatins. They can be performed for most environmental allergens, foods and venoms, particularly if the skin-prick tests are difficult or impossible to perform; in the case of important skin rashes which prevent testing, or occasionally in significant food hypersensitivity. Recently the specific IgE antibody test has improved considerably and is now available under the CAP system (Pharmacia-Upjohn) – its capacity to detect allergic sensitivity is greater than 95%.


Local application of allergy skin tests ("patch tests") are performed in cases of contact dermatitis. The extract is applied to the skin, covered in a special tape, and readings are performed after 24 hrs or longer. This kind of allergy is called "delayed", different from allergies known as "atopic" (such as pollens and animals, etc) which are usually immediate, and is frequently performed by dermatologists in addition to allergists, in order to detect skin sensitivities to certain cosmetics, jewellery, and perfume among other chemicals.



 

Local application of heat or cold, often performed with ice, can also be a form of allergy testing. The photo shows a test performed with an ice cube on the forearm. The test is positive, seen by the presence of a "hive" in the region of the ice, after application for one minute.





__________________________

John Weisnagel, MD (text and photos)

AAIQ   L'Association des Allergologues et Immunologues du Québec

Les tests d'allergie

Les tests d'allergie cutanés sont faits actuellement par voie percutanée, en utilisant des scarificateurs variés, pour déceler des allergies dites "atopiques", impliquées dans les allergies alimentaires, les rhinites (ou rhino-conjonctivites) saisonnières (appelées communément "fièvre" ou "rhume" des foins, ou pollinose) ou perannuelles (survenant en toute saison), les sinusites à répétition, la sinusite chronique, les infections des voies respiratoires à répétition (surtout chez les enfants), l'asthme allergique, certaines formes d'urticaire, et parfois des manifestations cutanées appelées dermites, dont la dermite atopique (ou plutôt 'de l'atopique').

Cabarets d'extraits
Cabarets d'extraits
Scarificateurs disponibles
Scarificateurs disponibles

Les tests sont faits pour plusieurs éléments de l'environnement dont les acariens de la poussière, les plumes, les moisissures, les pollens, les allergènes d'animaux, ainsi que pour déceler des allergies alimentaires. Les tests peuvent aussi être faits pour les venins d'insectes (abeilles, guêpes, frelons, etc) les anesthésiques locaux et autres médicaments, et le latex.

Une goutte de l'extrait est déposé
Une goutte d'extrait est déposé
La scarification à travers chaque goutte
La scarification à travers les gouttes

Le seul médicament pouvant être évalué de façon fiable par des tests d'allergies usuels est la pénicilline (bien que votre médecin puise décider de faire des tests avec d’autres médicaments selon votre cas). Les tests sont d'abord faits par scarification, en utilisant une variété de scarificateurs, d'aiguilles, ou de lances. Des tests par injection intra-dermique sont faits, si le test par scarification s'avère négatif. La lecture est faite dans 15-20 min. et les réactions décrites comme étant légères, modérées à marquées, soit comme +, ++,+++, ++++. +++++, ou en mesurant l'enflure et la rougeur en mm.


Test fait par injection intradermique
Un test par injection intradermique
Cas exemple: lecture après 15 min
Un exemple de cas: lecture après 15 min
Test par application de glace
Un test par application de glace

On peut évaluer l'allergie aussi par des tests sanguins appelés RAST ("radioallergosorbent test") qui dose quantitativement les anticorps de type IgE responsables des manifestations allergiques. Ils sont faits pour la plupart des éléments de l'environnement, pour les aliments, les venins, particulièrement si les tests cutanés s'avèrent impossibles pour plusieurs raisons, comme dans le cas de personnes présentant des manifestations cutanées importantes ne permettant pas de scarifications habituelles, ou dans le cas de sensibilité sévère alimentaire. Récemment ce test de l'anticorps IgE spécifique a été amélioré et est disponible sous le nom de CAP System (Pharmacia-Upjohn): son efficacité pour déceler la sensibilité est supérieure à 95%.


Des tests d'allergie par application locale ("patch tests") sont faits dans les cas de dermite de contact. L'extrait est appliqué sur la peau, recouvert d'un diachylon spécial, et la lecture est faite dans les 24 à 48 heures. Il s'agit d'une forme d'allergie appelée 'retardée', différente des allergies dites 'atopiques' (allergie aux pollens, aux animaux, etc.) qui elles sont immédiates. Ces tests sont fréquemment faits par les dermatologues, consultés pour des manifestations cutanées causées par les cosmétiques, les bijoux, parfums entre autres.



Des tests par application locale de chaleur ou de froid, fait avec la glace dans bien des cas, peuvent aussi être faits. La photo qui suit montre un test fait avec un cube de glace sur l'avant-bras, qui est positif, manifesté par une plaque d'urticaire délimitée par la glace, test lu après application d'une minute à quelques minutes.







__________________________

John Weisnagel, MD (texte et photos)