Links of interest

Secondary immunodeficiency

The immune system is composed of a variety of cells, especially white blood cells, and proteins, for which one of the principal functions is microbial defense. A deficit in the immune system can therefore lead to unusually severe or uncommon recurrent infections. Immune deficits (immunodeficiency) may be primary or secondary. Secondary immune deficiencies or acquired deficiencies, more frequent than primary immune deficiencies, are problems of the immune system that are not genetic and which are caused by external factors.

An example of a secondary immune deficiency: AIDS

The most well-known example of a secondary immune deficiency is the immunodeficiency caused by the human immunodeficiency virus, or HIV. HIV attacks certain cells in the immune system and prevents them from carrying out their proper functions against microbes. When the immune system is sufficiently weakened, infected people catch atypical and severe infections. This is then called the Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome, or AIDS. AIDS at this time is often treated by a specialized multidisciplinary team.

What are other causes of secondary immunodeficiency?

Other causes of secondary immunodeficiency include: severe malnutrition, certain chronic diseases such as diabetes, immunosuppressive medication or chemotherapy, certain cancers such as leukemia, and the absence of the spleen (sometimes the spleen must be removed because of trauma, for example).

How are secondary immunodeficiencies treated?

The treatment depends on the severity in the deficiency of the immune system. Treatment of the underlying cause often leads to improvement of the condition. Patients are typically followed by their usual physician: the allergist-immunologist may be consulted in certain cases.

__________________________

Nha Uyen Nguyen-Luu, MD FRCPC (translation: Andrew Moore, MD FRCPC)

Liens d'intérêt

Immunodéficience secondaire

Le système immunitaire se compose d'un ensemble de cellules, particulièrement les globules blancs, et de protéines dont une des fonctions principales est la défense contre les microbes. Une atteinte du système immunitaire peut donc se traduire par des infections répétées, plus sévères ou inhabituelles. Les déficits immunitaires (immunodéficiences) peuvent être primaires ou secondaires. Les déficits immunitaires secondaires ou acquis, plus fréquents que les déficits primaires, sont des problèmes du système immunitaire qui ne sont pas génétiques et qui sont causés par des facteurs extérieurs.

Un exemple de déficit immunitaire secondaire : le SIDA

L’exemple le plus connu d’immunodéficience secondaire est l’immunodéficience causée par le virus d’immunodéficience humaine ou VIH. Le VIH s’attaque à certaines cellules du système immunitaire et empêche celui-ci de bien fonctionner pour combattre les microbes. Lorsque le système immunitaire est trop atteint, les personnes infectées attrapent alors des infections inhabituelles et sévères. On dit alors qu’elles ont le Syndrome d’Immunodéficience Acquise ou SIDA. Le SIDA est de nos jours souvent pris en charge par une équipe multidisciplinaire spécialisée.

Quelles sont les autres causes d'immunodéficience secondaire?

D'autres causes d'immunodéficience secondaire sont : la malnutrition sévère, certaines maladies chroniques telles que le diabète, les médicaments immunosuppresseurs ou de chimiothérapie, certains cancers comme la leucémie, l'absence de rate (la rate doit parfois être enlevée suite à un accident par exemple).

Comment sont traitées les immunodéficiences secondaires?

Le traitement dépend du niveau d'atteinte du système immunitaire. Le traitement de la cause contribue souvent à l'amélioration de la condition. Les patients sont généralement pris en charge par leur médecin usuel; l'allergologue-immunologue peut être consulté dans certains cas.

__________________________

Nha Uyen Nguyen-Luu, MD FRCPC